Sunday, 21 July 2024, 2:06 PM
Site: Unitec Online
Course: Guide to Moodle (Guide to Moodle)
Glossary: Guide to Moodle

Groups - Teaching in a shared course

This guide is about how teachers can teach in a shared course.

Has to be done by the team leader: 

  1. Edit course settings to allow the PeopleSoft ID to automatically enrol students (How to)
  2. Manually create groups. Your team should follow a ‘Group naming’ protocol like: “Joe Blogs’ Class 1 ”, then, add students to groups.
  3. Add sections with the same name as the group name to keep consistency.
  4. Restrict access to the relevant section, to a specific group.

Note:

  1. You don’t need Grouping anymore.
  2. ‘Shut the eye’ to hide the unnecessary warning which says ‘Not available unless..’
  3. If a teacher wants additional groups within their class, create and label them properly, for example, Class1a, Class1b….

 Has to be done by teachers:

  1. Add students into your own group(s)
  2. Add Resources/Activities in your own section and don't modify other teacher’s sections
  3. If you are using additional groups, you should set up 'Restrict Access' by following number 4 above. 

Note: 

Never manually enrol students.

Remove manually enrolled students

Manually enrolment has no effect on student accessibility to Unitec Moodle. Student enrollment is controlled by PeopleSoft only.

As an Editing Teacher role, you can manually enrol a user, it looks fine from your teacher’s view. But, it only works for Staff. Even a student's name appears in your participant list, they still can’t access your course, because their account is not activated yet. Even worse, the inactivated manually enrolled account will cause unpredict issues which will incur complaints to Unitec.  

Please remove all manually enrolled students to avoid any further issues.

Remove users

As a teacher, you can remove multiple manually enrolled users quickly. (You can't remove PeopleSoft enrolled students)

remove


save