Delete manually enrolled users |
Checklist |
Enrolment - Guest access info for studentsHow to access a course as “Guest” Step 1: Follow the course link which your tutor gave to you, i.e:
Step 2: Click on the button: “Log in as a guest” Step 3: Enter the password which your tutor gave to you.
Step 4: Click on the button: “Submit” Tip: Note: |
Download/Backing up Turnitin assignments and gradesAn inactive Turnitin activity (link) is problematic for you because if anyone clicks on the Turnitin activity, it will incorrectly enrol all the previous years students into your current Moodle course, user list and gradebook. If you want to keep your students work from this Turnitin activity, you can download their submissions (with your grades) to your computer by following these easy steps below: 1. In your Moodle course, go to your Turnitin assignment page and change the list option from "Show 10" to "Show All" (See the screen shot below). 2. Select the check box beside "Student" to select all students' assignments. 3. Click "Download". 4. Select "Selected GradeMark Files". It may take a long time to download. Please be patient. 5. Click on "Turnitin Messages Inbox" to check if students' assignments have been downloaded. If so click on "bulk download" to save it onto your computer. Then delete the online copy by clicking on the red recycle bin icon beside it. That's all.
6. You can then delete this Turnitin assignment from your Moodle course. |
Grades - Marking workflowMarking workflow allows for results of assignment type activities to sit in a number of different states prior to being released to students. This is only available for assignment type activities not quiz. On a basic level this allows results to be hidden from students until you're ready, but also allows for assessors to keep track of the state of individual student's assignment through a mark->review->release workflow. Enable marking workflowEdit the settings for the assignment activity:
Under the Grade area of the Edit settings page, set Use marking workflow to Yes
Save your changes, you have now enabled marking workflow for this assignment. Using marking workflowWhen you are ready to grade an assignment click on the assignment and then View/grade all submissions as normal
In the grading page is where you can start to see marking workflow options appear, the default marking workflow state is Not marked, you can see this under the status column of the assignment grading page.
When grading an individual assessment there is now an option to set marking workflow state, any state other than "Released" will hide the current grade from the student.
Changing the marking workflow state of multiple submissionsIt is also possible to change the marking workflow state for multiple or all students who have participated in an assignment. Go to the assignment grading page and use the check boxes down the left hand side to select multiple or all participants in the list.
Now down the bottom you have an option to act on the selected participants
Click Go and you will be taken to a Set marking workflow state for (multiple) users page, scroll to the bottom of the page and select the new marking workflow state and then click Save changes.
All the selected participants activities are now set to this new marking workflow state |
How to Clear the Cache?Your internet browser's cache stores certain information (snapshots) of webpages you visit on your computer or mobile device so that they'll load more quickly upon future visits and while navigating through websites that use the same images on multiple pages so that you do not download the same image multiple times. Occasionally, however your cache can prevent you from seeing updated content, or cause functional problems when stored content conflicts with live content. You can fix many browser problems simply by clearing your cache. An easy way to reload a page and bypass the cache (force-reload page) involves using keyboard shortcuts. Generally, the keyboard shortcut [Ctrl] + [F5] will work. But ultimately, this depends on what browser you are using.
|
Tame your Google Gmail filterWhy I didn't receive any email from Moodle?Unfortunately, there's no easy way for you to ensure your emails don't hit the Promotions tab. It's also unclear how Gmail decides whether an email is "promotional" or not. Below is how to "teach" a gmail account to treat your emails as primary. This can be done by clicking on the email (without opening it) & dragging it to the "primary tab". You will then see a message that says: "The conversation has been moved to "primary". Undo Do this for future messages from "email address x"?Yes" If you click yes, all future emails from that address will go to the primary tab. This will certainly work for each individual who does it, I.e.. Each person who does it, their gmail account will always send your emails to the primary tab. |
Activities - Turnitin AssignmentCreates a Turnitin Moodle Direct assignment which links an activity in Moodle to an assignment / assignments on Turnitin. Once linked, the activity allows instructors to access and provide feedback for student's written work using the assessment tools available within Turnitin's Document Viewer. Walkthrough video: https://vimeo.com/203368521
Steps: Setting up a Turnitin Assignment: To create a Turnitin Assignment open the course home page, after logging in as a tutor click the 'Turn editing on' button. Select 'Turnitin Assignment' from the 'Add an activity...' drop down menu. General Turnitin Assignment settings:
Advanced Turnitin Assignment settings:
Once you have selected all of the required options click 'Save and Display' to be directed to the Summary screen where you will see options to configure each assignment part in more detail. Assignment Submission Dates After completion of the assignment settings the 'Summary' page gives you the opportunity update the assignment parts and balance the grades awarded for each part as a proportion of the overall grade. The edit the dates and grades awarded for each part click the pencil icon. The default dates for each assignment part are initially set to be one week from the date the assignment was created.
|
Reset a courseResetting your course can be useful between lots of students to purge out old user data so that the course is fresh. Of course there are times when you wish to keep old user data (like previous forum posts for students to build on) so be careful using this feature. You'll be taken to a settings page where you can choose what you wish to reset in the course. If you're using weekly format (rather than topics format) this can be a good place to change the course start date so that the weeks display properly for the new semester. Be careful deleting anything else in this section unless you're really sure. Then, depending on which activities you have in your course, you may see some other settings areas: These allow you to delete the data from any of these activities. Your activities themselves remain, ready to be used by the next lot of students. Note that you will still need to go through assignments and other items that have due dates set to make sure that the due dates are updated for the new lot of students! |
Grade Me blockA block that teachers can add to courses so as to quickly find ungraded assessments. Turn editing on > Add a block > Grade Me
|











