Thursday, 9 February 2023, 9:49 PM
Site: Unitec Online
Course: Guide to Moodle (Guide to Moodle)
Glossary: Guide to Moodle
G

Grade Me block

A block that teachers can add to courses so as to quickly find ungraded assessments.

Turn editing on > Add a block > Grade Me

Add Grade Me blockNothing to grade Grade Me block  Grade Me example

Grades - Grader report (analytics)

The grader report is the grid view that teachers see. Students see the user report, as they can only see their own grades.

grader report

There can be quite a bit of sideways scroll on this page, so be prepared to scroll to the bottom, then scroll to the right.

Do not alter assignment grades through the grader report! Use the assignment grading page.

Only manual grade items should be altered through the grader report.

Back to grades

Grades - Manual grade override

Sometimes it is desirable to modify a student's grade from what moodle has generated (for example a quiz grade). This is called manual grade override.

Setting these overrides is very easy it's typically just a matter of clicking on the grade while reviewing an activity attempt or submission and typing in a new one.

Clearing these overrides is not so straight forward, it requires going into the gradebook setup and removing it.


Grades - Marking workflow

Marking workflow allows for results of assignment type activities to sit in a number of different states prior to being released to students. This is only available for assignment type activities not quiz.

On a basic level this allows results to be hidden from students until you're ready, but also allows for assessors to keep track of the state of individual student's assignment through a mark->review->release workflow.

Enable marking workflow

Edit the settings for the assignment activity:

Administration, Assignment administration, Edit settings

Under the Grade area of the Edit settings page, set Use marking workflow to Yes

Use marking workflow

Save your changes, you have now enabled marking workflow for this assignment.

Using marking workflow

When you are ready to grade an assignment click on the assignment and then View/grade all submissions as normal

view/grade all submissions

In the grading page is where you can start to see marking workflow options appear, the default marking workflow state is Not marked, you can see this under the status column of the assignment grading page.

Not marked

When grading an individual assessment there is now an option to set marking workflow state, any state other than "Released" will hide the current grade from the student.

marking workflow state

Changing the marking workflow state of multiple submissions

It is also possible to change the marking workflow state for multiple or all students who have participated in an assignment.

Go to the assignment grading page and use the check boxes down the left hand side to select multiple or all participants in the list.

select multiple

Now down the bottom you have an option to act on the selected participants

with selected

Click Go and you will be taken to a Set marking workflow state for (multiple) users page, scroll to the bottom of the page and select the new marking workflow state and then click Save changes.

set workflow multiple

All the selected participants activities are now set to this new marking workflow state

Grades - moodle Gradebook setup / Weighted mean of grades

It is important to differentiate between the moodle gradebook found on your moodle course and the Unitec gradebook accessed through The Nest. These two systems are not the same and are not linked together.

It is however possible to make the moodle gradebook in your moodle course correctly align with the weightings for the various assessment activities. This will provide better feedback for your students about their current progress and make your final input of grades into the Unitec gradebook much simpler.

Grades - User report (analytics)

Teachers can see individual user reports for students.

Students always only see the individual user report.

user report

Teachers, to see individual user reports:

  1. Course administration > Grades
  2. Change the "Grader report" drop down menu in top left to "User report"
  3. On the right, select the student you would like to view from the drop down menu labelled "Select all or one user"

Groups - Adding/removing groups from groupings

Once you have created your groupings and your groups, you need to assign groups to groupings.

  1. Course administration > Users > Groups
  2. Click the "Groupings" tab (found near the top of the page)
  3. Find the grouping you would like to populate with groups
  4. Over to the right there is a little icon for viewing groups in grouping. Groups in groupings icon Click this.
  5. Choose the group (or groups) you want in this grouping from the list on the right and click "Add"
  6. When you are done, you can click the "Return to groupings" button or just return to your course. You do not need to save changes.

Removing groups follows the same process, but instead of selecting the group from the right hand list and clicking "Add", you select it from the left hand list and click "Remove".


Groups - Adding/removing users from groups

  1. Course Administration > Users > Groups
  2. Click the group you would like to add/remove users from to highlight it
  3. Click "Add/remove users"
  4. Find the users you wish to add in the right hand list (either by scrolling or using the search box below) and use the "Add" button.
  5. Find the users you wish to remove in the left hand list (either by scrolling or using the search box below) and use the "Remove" button.
  6. When you are done click the "Back to groups" button near the bottom of the page.

Groups - Creating groups

Manually creating groups

  1. Course Administration > Users > Groups
  2. Click "Create a group"
  3. Name your group (and you can upload a group icon and give it a description)
  4. Click "Save"
  5. Repeat to create as many groups as you would like.

Auto create groups

  1. Course Administration > Users > Groups
  2. Click "Auto-create groups"

Auto-create groups settings

Select members from role - The members of your group will be selected from the pool of students by default. If you want to include teachers and students in the auto-creation, change this to "All".

Select members from cohort - Only site administrators should see this setting.

Specify - number of groups or members per group - do you want to break the class up into a specific number of groups, or by the number of people per group?

Group/member count - this field is required and is linked to the previous setting. i.e. If you want your students split into 3 groups, put 3 in here and have "number of groups" for the previous setting.

Prevent last small group - If there are not the right numbers to make even groups, often one group will be created that is smaller than the rest. Checking this will distribute those students amongst the existing groups instead, even if it pushes the numbers above the ones you specified for maximum members in a group.

Allocate members - your options are randomly, alphabetically by first name last name, alphabetically by last name first name, alphabetically by ID number.

Naming scheme - The at symbol (@) may be used to create groups with names containing letters. For example Group @ will generate groups named Group A, Group B, Group C, ...

The hash symbol (#) may be used to create groups with names containing numbers. For example Group # will generate groups named Group 1, Group 2, Group 3, ...

Groups - Restricting Access to Specific Groups

1. Click Turn editing on at the top right of your course page:


2. Click Edit settings to the right of the activity you want to restrict access to:


or

 Click Edit topic to the right of the section you want to restrict access to:


3. Under the Restrict access heading, click Add restriction.


4. Then click on the Group button.


5. Select the group that you want to restrict from accessing the assignment/section from the drop down menu.


6. You can shut off the eye if you want other students who are not in this group to see the warning: "Not available unless..."


7. Save changes.